Eight States Backing EV Ownership


Eight states hope to promote zero-emission vehicle (ZEV) ownership by making it easier to find charging stations, among other perks.

The eight-state coalition includes California, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Vermont— accounting for a quarter of new car sales in the US.

To spur ZEV sales, the states are promising more charging stations, carpool lane access, cheaper tolls and free parking.

The goal of the Multi-State Zero Emission Vehicles Action Plan is to put 3.3 million electric vehicles on the road by 2025.

“We’re putting a foot on the pedal to get more clean cars on the road,” said California Governor Jerry Brown, “This is real action to reduce greenhouse gas emissions.”

The coalition also plans to make electric vehicles more affordable by supporting state and federal tax credits. They may also offer rebates at the car dealerships at the time cars are bought.

The eight states plan to develop uniform signage to make it easier for electric car owners to spot charging stations.

Under the plan, ZEV vehicles include plug-in electric vehicles, plugin-hybrid electric vehicles, and hydrogen fuel cell electric vehicles.


All, Blog

Eight States Backing EV Ownership
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn